Close this search box.

Virginia Hemp Retailers Hit With Fines

Virginia is handing out fines to hemp retailers in the state that are selling unauthorised products.

From 1 July 2023, amendments to Virginia’s Industrial Hemp Law will direct the manufacturing and retail sale of certain hemp-derived products. Under the law, hemp product may not exceed 0.3% THC, and may not have more than two milligrams of total THC per package unless the product’s CBD to THC ratio is at least 25 parts CBD for every one-part total THC.

Further restrictions require edible hemp products that contain THC to be in child-resistant packaging, edible hemp products to bear a label with specific information and be accompanied by a certificate of analysis produced by an independent, accredited laboratory, and retailers must have the laboratory’s certificate of accreditation available for review, among others.

READ MORE: Minnesota to Give $15m Reparations to Communities Harmed by Cannabis Prohibition

According to the Virginia Mercury, The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) had now handed out five letters to businesses selling unauthorised products. Fines range between $13,000 and $97,500. However, the retailers are able to pay a reduced fine $10,000 if they meet compliance requirements.

MJ Biz Daily reported that the largest fine was issued to a store allegedly selling hemp products containing more than 0.3% THC and synthetic THC, as well as goods that “looked like mainstream snacks”.

Related Posts

Related Posts


Related Posts

Related Posts

Recent Posts

Related Posts

Subscribe to our mailing list to receives daily updates!

We won’t spam you


Browse by Tags




© 2023 Prohibition Holdings Ltd. All Rights Reserved.


Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?